Bible Verse Discussion #5

D33_5024The Bible Verse I am hoping to get some feedback about today is Isaiah 53:5-6. “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed. We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.”

~I am hoping to get more comments this time so that we may be able to finally get a discussion going. What really sticks out to me are the words “pierced and crushed and punishment”. Jesus went through horrendous torture and eventual death to pay the price for our sins, MY sins! It is still hard for me to imagine sometimes and to know how to express my gratitude towards God because I feel like I could never do enough to show Him how thankful I am that I have a chance to spend eternity at His side because He sent His Son to suffer and  die on the cross.

~Something else that I thought about while studying Verse 5: “…the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.” That shows just how amazing God’s Grace really is. Also, in Verse 6 “We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.”   ~Can you imagine? Someone else commits a crime and you pay the price? That is what happened with Jesus. This verse is saying that EVERY ONE OF US SIN. We all do and Jesus is the one who paid the price of every single one of our sins.

~This verse reminds me of a few things. First of all, I need to remember that sin is sin. There is not a big sin or little sin (in my view), sin is sin. The other reminder for me is to always be thankful. No matter how hard of a day I may be having, I always need to continue to show my gratitude towards the Lord for everything He has done, everything He is doing, and all that He will do in the future. It is because of Him and the sacrifices of His Son that I (we) have the chance at spending an eternity with Him in Heaven. Thank You, Lord!

3 responses to “Bible Verse Discussion #5

  1. I am torn about the idea that sin is sin without degree. I think a one time sin, where the sinner is repentent, is the same as any one time sin. But when a sinful lifestyle, or a repetitive sin enters the scene, and the sinner is not repentant, then I think God sees that on a very different level. While we live in the age of Grace, God doesnt change. The unknown Unforgiveable sin, is still unforgivable. The 7 sins that God abhors are still the same 7 sins. Because the Bibile is filled with the nature of God, and God’s nature doesnt change. He gave us a way so that WE can change if WE accept the gift of His Son’s sacrifice.

  2. “Return Unto Me..” right.

    Jeremiah 15:19

    Therefore thus says the LORD, If you return, then will I bring you again, and you shall stand before me: and if you take forth the precious from the vile, you shall be as my mouth: let them return unto you; but return not you unto them.

  3. Indeed. Psalm 1:1-3 Its a hard road and I honestly believe that no one is without sin, because it is stated throughout the bible. Psalm 143:2, Romans 2:13 and 1 Corinthians 4:4 to name a few.

    That said, what I believe from Psalm 1:1-3 where it says do not take delight in sin.. love the lord take delight in him. So, I believe its saying if you stumble pick your self back up and meditate night & day… you can be saved.

Leave A Comment

