Being A Child Of God And What That Means

I have been reading several devotionals lately.There have been many subjects that I have studied in the past several weeks but one came to mind a few minutes ago…What it means to be a child of God. As at least some of you know at this point, I had my first child this past May. I had a little boy who is the light of my life. I believe that having a child of your own is the one and only way for anyone to know the love between a parent and a child. I think that is when I began to understand the love that God must have for us. He tells us that once we are saved, we become His children so that must mean he has the same love for us that any other parent has for their child or children. It is hard for me to imagine giving up my “one and only Son” for anyone, but that is exactly what God did. He gave Jesus’ life so that we can have the chance to make it into Heaven. Can you imagine?! How much love for us must He have in order to sacrifice His Son? I think that after I had my son and started to bond with him, after I felt the amazing connection and love I have for him is when I began to realize how much my Heavenly Father must love me. That makes me feel like the luckiest person in the world and I hope you feel the same way because He loves us all just the same.

20121128-170548.jpg

“But to all who did receive Him, who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God…” John 1:12

2 responses to “Being A Child Of God And What That Means

  1. I was a very definite man hater before I became a Christian, and the thought of ‘father’ was abhorrent to me.

    For many years I had l-o-n-g-e-d to find out that I was adopted, because that would mean that at ONE time in my life, before I became so evil, SOMEONE had wanted me. No, I wasn’t adopted.

    The very FIRST Scripture passage I read AFTER becoming a Christian, was Romans 8. It was in a Bible study group and it fell my turn to read verses 14-17. I let out a yelp. What joy! God – the absolutely PERFECT God – had adopted me into His own family.

    I was a blood-bought, adopted child of the living, omnipotent, perfect Father God! In the last 54 years of knowing, loving and serving Him, He has been just that to me – a loving Father.

    What an amazing God!

    • Thank you for commenting about this post. I can relate to what you are saying. That is such a great passage to read, especially in a situation such as yours. I am going to type it here for anyone who might not be familiar.

      “For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by Him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs-heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in His sufferings in order that we may also share in His glory.” Romans 8 14-17 NIV

      Thank you for sharing your story here and for reminding me and all of us of this passage. You have brought some encouragement (again) to me and I am sure many others tonight. God is definitely amazing! I am in awe of all the things He does, not only in my life, but also what I see Him doing in so many others’ also. Thank you and God Bless you always.

Leave A Comment

