Becoming More Thankful

I am sad and a little embarrassed to say that it is easy for me to become ungrateful and to forget how blessed I truly am. I get so wrapped up in the things that may not be going the way I think they should that I start feeling sorry for myself sometimes. I do have to say that I have made an improvement in this area but I still have a ways to go.

I had not slept for a few nights in a row and I was feeling pretty sick from lack of sleep and just feeling stressed out from different life circumstances. My son also had to go to his pediatrician yesterday to get his vaccinations and was not feeling very well. There has just been a lot going on. Thankfully, me and my son slept all night last night. He did not wake up until nine this morning which is a little unusual for him. I took some time to play with him on the floor, which I do often. This morning I felt overwhelmingly grateful, which probably helped me to realize how ungrateful I can be at times. Of course I have had difficult times and trials to go through, but who doesn’t? Why should I be any different?

Jesus suffered more than we could ever imagine and gave His life for a world that does not even deserve it. We now have the chance to have an eternity in Heaven because of His suffering. God gave us the gift of Grace through His Son. Could you do that? Could you give up your child or if you don’t have children, a parent or anyone that may be important to you, especially knowing the degree of their suffering and how it would result in death? I couldn’t. I have so much to be thankful for but even if I didn’t, I should be more than thankful for this gift God has given to me and to everyone who has faith in God.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16 NIV

“But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name:
who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.” John 1:12-13 NKJV

“And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.” 1John 5:11-13 NIV

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 6:23 NIV

12 responses to “Becoming More Thankful

    • Thank you so much for asking. He is doing really well overall. He is almost seven-months old right now and has acid reflux so he is on a medication called Zantac to try to help with him spitting up and his throat burning when his food comes up in his throat.

      He also has an appointment this coming Tuesday, December 11th for his eyes. He has something called Nystagmus. His eyes shake back and forth and some people are blind with this condition. It is hard to tell because of his age, but he seems to have pretty good eyesight so far.

      Again, thank you for asking and I would appreciate any prayers for his upcoming appointment. I will probably write a post explaining all of this again so that hopefully everyone will see it.

      • Heavenly God, Righteous Father..you said you knew us as from the womb. This little boy is your treasure and the apple of your eyes.

        We trust you and claim your promises of protection and healing. Touch him with your healing hand, make him well to become a living testimony of your great love.

        Guide the doctors and give them wisdom to provide care for this wonderful child yours.

        Comfort his family and give them strength, never losing hope and ever looking up at your mercy.

        Send him angels to be with him all the time, and send people to this family to help them in everything they need.

        Glory is all yours, Our god. In the sweet name of Jesus, Amen.

Leave A Comment

